UNT literary prizes

More about UNT's creative writing program

UNT's creative writing program
Literary success stories
American Literary Review

Two literary prizes recently have been established at UNT — one that recognizes mid-career poets and the other that recognizes its own emerging poets.
The Rilke Prize, founded in 2012 and named after Bohemian-Austrian poet Rainier Maria Rilke, gives $10,000 to a book by a poet that has "demonstrated exceptional artistry and vision." The first winner was Laura Kasischke for her book, Space, in Chains, and the 2013 winner was Paisly Rekdal for her book, Animal Eye.
Rekdal was the judge of the Voertman/Academy of American Poets Prize for UNT creative writing graduate students. The $200 prize, funded by Paul Voertman, who attended UNT in the 1940s, will be awarded to a single poem. Rekdal selected "Three Rivers" by doctoral student Justin Bigos.
The prize is one of 200 awards given by University and College Poetry Prize Program, which is sponsored by the Academy of American Poets.