UNT political science students win national moot court championship

Political science students and Moot Court members Taylor Ledford ('15) and Eryn Mascia took first place for their written appellate brief at the American Collegiate Moot Court Association National Championship Tournament in January.

The fictional court case that teams argued at tournaments this year centered on an imaginary federal act that prohibited all public and private colleges and universities in the U.S. from accepting students who are undocumented immigrants. Ledford and Mascia wrote the brief on behalf of the fictional petitioners -- a private college and an undocumented student who won a scholarship.