The North Texan Online UNT North Texan contents UNT North Texan feature stories UNT North Texan eagle tale UNT  North Texan alumni news UNT North Texan feedback
MoreUNT North Texan time tracksUNT newsUNT North Texan contact usUNT North Texan past issues

  Alumni Awards

Alumni Items

Class Notes

Friends We'll Miss

Send in your news for Class Notes

UNT Athletic Hall of Fame


The UNT Athletic Hall of Fame inductees for 2002 are:

photo of Bill BlakeleyBill Blakeley, the Mean Green’s head basketball coach from the 1975-76 season to the 1982-83 season. He had the second most victories in school history, and his career mark of 134-85 gives him the fourth-best winning percentage (.612) in North Texas history. He led the Mean Green to three straight 20-win seasons, with one of his teams earning the school’s first and only Top 20 ranking.



photo of Bobby GreenwoodBobby Greenwood, a three-time letter winner in golf at North Texas from 1961 to 1963 who helped lead the Eagles to three consecutive Missouri Valley Conference championships. As a senior, he led the Eagles to the NCAA championship tournament in 1963, when North Texas placed third. Greenwood received honorable mention All-America honors as a sophomore in 1961 and was a first-team All-American as a junior and senior.



photo of Barry MooreBarry Moore, an outstanding receiver for the Mean Green football team in 1968 and 1969. He shares the school record for receiving yards in a season, amassing 1,130 yards in 1969. That season he caught 71 passes and scored five touchdowns to earn his second straight All-Missouri Valley Conference honor. The 71 receptions rank third in North Texas history, while his 2,183 career reception yards are No. 4 in school history. In 1968, Moore rolled up 228 yards in receptions in a game against the University of Texas at El Paso, a mark that ranks No. 2 in school history.


photo of G.A. MooreG.A. Moore, a member of the Eagle football team from 1957 to 1960 who has since earned national recognition as one of Texas’ most successful high school football coaches. Moore has coached at Bryson, Pilot Point, Celina and Sherman over a five-decade career that is highlighted by eight state championships. Now back at Pilot Point, he could become the winningest coach in the history of Texas high school football this season. Read more about him here.


photo of Dee WalkerDee Walker, an outstanding defensive lineman for the North Texas football team from 1938 to 1940. He was a member of back-to-back Lone Star Conference championship teams in 1939 and 1940. Named first team All-Lone Star Conference following the 1940 season, Walker returned to North Texas in 1946 to become a longtime assistant coach to Odus Mitchell.





UNT homeUNT calendarCampaign North TexasNorth Texas Exesathletics