The North Texan Online UNT North Texan contents UNT North Texan feature stories UNT North Texan eagle tale UNT  North Texan alumni news UNT North Texan feedback
MoreUNT North Texan time tracksUNT newsUNT North Texan contact usUNT North Texan past issues
class notes

Alumni Items

Class Notes

Friends We'll Miss

Send in your news for Class Notes


Candelario 'Candy' Elizondo
, Houston, has been practicing law for 29 years at his law firm Elizondo and Elizondo. He is a past president of the Harris County Criminal Lawyers' Association, serves as associate judge for the city of West University Place and was elected president of the Texas Longhorn Breeders Gulf Coast Association.

Jon A. Booker
(Ph.D.), Brentwood, Tenn., received the Tennessee Society of Certified Public Accountants' 2003 Lifetime Achievement in Accounting Education Award. He has been a professor of accounting at Tennessee Technological University in Cookeville, Tenn., since 1984 and was instrumental in the launch of its new distance M.B.A. program.

Suzette Roberts Carona ('79 M.S.), Dallas, has taught for 16 years at Episcopal School of Dallas. The Texas Council for the Humanities recently recognized her as one of six outstanding teachers of the humanities in the state.

Kathleen R. Woodby ('73 M.A.), Austin, is the supervisor of the Crime Analysis Unit for the Austin Police Department and senior crime analyst for the Southeast Area Command. She worked for several radio stations, including KNTU, before moving to police work and has established a scholarship at UNT in the Depart-ment of Radio, Television and Film. She and her husband, Terry J. Sherman, have a daughter, Tara, 22.

Carl David Adams
, Dallas, has been selected for Who's Who in American Law, 2003-04. He is board certified in civil trial law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization and is in private practice in Dallas. He received his J.D. degree in 1975 from Baylor University School of Law.

John and Lindy Rydman, Houston, have been named recipients of the Award of Excellence in the business category by the Texas Association of Symphony Orchestras for outstanding service to symphony orchestras in Texas. They are longtime supporters of the Houston Symphony Orchestra, and John serves on its board of trustees.

Charles Carona
(M.Ed., '86 Ed.D.), Dallas, has been appointed dean of the College of Education at Dallas Baptist University. He has 35 years of experience as a teacher and administrator in the Highland Park and Richardson ISDs.

Mike O'Neal
, Carrollton, has formed an acoustic trio called Rivers West, which plays rock and country classics and original songs. He is president of the Support Source Corp. in Denton, a software company. He can be reached at

Eduardo E. Aguilar Sr. (M.F.A.), Fort Worth, received the Distinguished Faculty in a Community College Award from the Texas Association of Chicanos in Higher Education and the 2003 Chancellor's Award for Exemplary Teaching from the Tarrant County College Northwest Campus, where he is president of the Faculty Association and professor of visual arts. He is serving as president of the Texas Association of Schools of Art for 2004-06.

Kathie Barton Steele, Chugiak, Alaska, was named the Alaska State Teacher of the Year for 2004. She moved to Alaska in 1982 and began teaching in 1995 after taking time off to raise her children.

Sparky Koerner (M.M.Ed.), Texas City, has been instrumental music director at the College of the Mainland in Texas City for 20 years. In October he welcomed fellow 5 O'Clock Lab Band alumnus John Adam and his trio to the college for a master class and concert, and in November he was guest clinician conductor for the Region 23 Jazz Ensemble Concert at Katy High School, where former 7 O'Clock Lab Band member Bruce Melville is an assistant band director. Koerner directed the 7 O'Clock Lab Band while serving as a graduate assistant for Leon Breeden.

Scott Crawford
, Carrollton, was named vice president of sales after 24 years with Primrose Oil Co. of Dallas. Crawford, who says perseverance does pay off, will manage a staff that includes 125 sales representatives.

Carole Stewart (M.F.A.), Aspen, Colo., was chosen as the Elementary Art Educator of the Year for the state of Colorado. She is the art teacher at Aspen Elementary School.

David Farquhar ('80 M.Ed.), Plano, was selected Teacher of the Year for 2002-03 at Plano East Senior High. He was a finalist for the district's Teacher of the Year Award and received the Excellence in Teaching Award for Plano ISD. He is the mathematics department chair at Plano East and has been teaching for 25 years.

Larry S. Adams
, Fort Valley, Ga., was promoted to vice president with Science Applications International Corp., a top defense contractor. He previously worked at Raytheon for 15 years, where he managed military aircraft modification programs.

Ronald W. Bradford (M.Ed., '90 Ed.D.), Elgin, was selected by the Texas Board of Criminal Justice as the new superintendent of the Windham School District, the 83,000-student educational system inside Texas prisons. He most recently was deputy director for administrative services for the Region 11 Education Service Center in Fort Worth.

Renee Cooper Sanders (M.S.), San Angelo, has been named the regional program director for family and consumer sciences for the Texas Cooperative Extension west region. She was the extension director in San Angelo for the last five years.

Steven Wright, Seattle, has accepted the position of managing director at the Seattle Public Theatre. He directed the Northwest premiere of Romeo and Juliet for ArtsWest and worked on Kicking the Hat. He was accepted into the last class of Lee Strasberg at the Actors Studio and appeared on the television pilot Blood on the Badge and ABC's The Trouble with Hello. He also served in the Navy, receiving a Joint Meritorious Unit Commendation during Operation Desert Storm.



UNT home UNT calendarCampaign North TexasNorth Texas Exesathletics