National Awards

Faculty, alumni and students garner prestigious awards and scholarships.

NSF CAREER Award: College of Engineering assistant professor Melanie Ecker earned the National Science Foundation's most prestigious recognition for early career faculty. Ecker will use the $553,036 award, given through the NSF's Faculty Early Career Development Program, to further her research.

Jathin Pranav Singaraju
Jathin Pranav Singaraju

Goldwater Awards: Jathin Pranav Singaraju, a Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science student at UNT, was named a 2023 Goldwater Scholar in recognition of his work in the biomedical engineering lab of Huaxiao "Adam" Yang. Jathin is UNT's 71st recipient of a Goldwater Scholarship. Additionally, biology professor Jannon Fuchs won the 2023 Council on Undergraduate Research-Goldwater Scholars Faculty Mentor Award, recognizing her research, scholarship, teaching and mentorship. She's the first UNT professor to win the award. Of about 185 students she's mentored, 10 became Goldwater Scholars.

Fulbright Awards: Four faculty and staff members and three students earned awards and recognition from the prestigious Fulbright Program for the 2023-24 awards cycle. Associate professor Diana Berman was named a Fulbright U.S. Scholar. Staff member Lauren Jacobsen-Bridges was a recipient of the Fulbright International Education Administrators Seminar to South Korea. Faculty members Saraju Mohanty and Joseph Oppong also received Fulbright Specialist Program Awards. UNT students who earned Fulbright U.S. Student Program Awards this year are Odalis Alvarado and Lorelei Nichols for the English Teaching Assistant Awards and Garrison Gerard for the Fulbright/National Science Foundation Arctic Research Award.