New Leadership

UNT recently announced several new appointments. Michael McPherson was named UNT's new provost and vice president for academic affairs. A professor of economics, he joined the UNT faculty in 1992 and has held several leadership posts, which include Faculty Senate chairperson, acting dean of the Mayborn School of Journalism, associate vice provost for faculty success, special advisor to the provost, and vice provost for student success.

Brandon Buzbee was appointed vice president for university advancement, where he'll work to increase engagement and fundraising. Buzbee previously served in fundraising roles at the University of Denver and the University of California, San Diego.

Angie Cartwright, associate professor of counseling and higher education, was named the inaugural assistant vice provost for faculty success in the Office of the Provost. She has been at UNT since 2015, and will focus on academic policy, faculty programming and DEI efforts.

Teresa R. McKinney was named assistant vice president and director for diversity and inclusion. She previously worked as president for student services and enrollment management at Texas Southern University. Prior to that, she served as assistant vice president for student affairs, health and wellness at UNT, from 2013 to 2019.

Jeff Brown is the new associate vice president for facilities after previously working at UNT from 2009 to 2011, when he served as director of facilities maintenance. He's since worked more than 20 years at the University of Missouri in Columbia.