Many Join New Roles at UNT

Aaron Roberts, Amie Lund, Chandra Carey
From left to right, Aaron Roberts, Amie Lund and Chandra Carey have accepted new roles within UNT.

Over the past several months, UNT has welcomed new faculty and staff to the university, while also welcoming existing faculty and staff into new roles. In May, Susan Holmes -- an experienced leader in nonprofit management with 17 years of experience -- was named chief corporate relations and government affairs officer, where she will focus on building additional strategic partnerships with elected officials, corporations and other key stakeholders in Frisco and across the North Texas region.

In June, Aaron Roberts, professor of environmental toxicology in the College of Science and director of UNT's Advanced Environmental Research Institute (AERI), was appointed to serve as associate vice president of research in UNT's Division of Research and Innovation. He replaces Pamela Padilla, professor of biological sciences, who was appointed dean of the College of Science. In addition, Amie Lund, associate professor of environmental toxicology, was appointed to lead AERI. Chandra Donnell Carey, associate professor of rehabilitation and health services in the College of Health and Public Service, will serve in a newly created, yearlong appointment as a faculty fellow. Also in June, Clayton Gibson was named the new vice president for finance and administration and CFO, replacing Bob Brown who retired in May.

In July, Karen Hutzel -- an internationally recognized and community-minded arts leader -- took the reins as the new dean of the College of Visual Arts and Design. That same month, Beth Tolan joined UNT as assistant vice president for Student Financial Aid and Scholarships and Holly Hutchins ('94 M.A., '04 Ph.D.) assumed the role as vice provost for faculty success.

Continue Reading