Honoring Outstanding Alumni

The following alumni will be honored at the 2021 UNT Alumni Association's Distinguished Alumni Achievement Awards at 6 p.m. Nov. 11 in the Union Ballroom.

Distinguished Alumni Award
UNT Alumni Awards

The most prestigious award given by the UNT Alumni Association, honoring alumni for professional achievement and significant contributions to society and the university.

Lynn Gravley ('87) is president and CEO of NT Logistics, Inc. He serves on the board of directors for the North Texas Tollway Authority and the Transportation Intermediaries Association, and is chairman of the Highway Logistics Conference.

Wilson Jones ('85) held several prominent positions during his career with Oshkosh Corporation, including chief operations officer, president and CEO. In 2018, he won a Glassdoor Employees' Choice Award honoring the top CEOs.

Frank Lawlis ('62, '65 M.Ed.), a retired faculty member, held several positions on the Dr. Phil Show, including chief of oversight production and resource supervisor. He serves on the Dr. Phil Foundation Board of Directors, the Mensa Research Journal Editorial Advisory Board and the Inner Space Training Advisory Board.

Distinguished Young Alumni Award

Presented to alumni under the age of 40 for professional achievement that has merited the honor and praise of peers and colleagues.

Dustee Jenkins ('01) is currently the head of global communications and public relations at Spotify, the world's most popular audio streaming service. She previously served as senior vice president and chief communications officer at Target.

David Wachira ('13 Ph.D.) is a public finance and governance specialist at The World Bank. He is co-secretary for The World Bank's Youth-to-Youth program and serves on the board for Inspire Spaces, Inspire Students.

Outstanding Alumni Service Award

Presented to individuals who have provided exceptional volunteer service to UNT or the community.

Michael Penaluna ('88), member of UNT's inaugural class of the Emergency Administration and Planning program, worked as an emergency management coordinator at the City of Denton Fire Department. He now serves as a consultant for UNT Emergency Management and volunteers as a guest lecturer and mentor at the university.

Ulys Knight Spirit Award

Given to an individual or group that has made noteworthy efforts to show exceptional UNT spirit.

Steven Pettit ('02) is a Mean Green Club Member and steadfast UNT athletics supporter. He is the former director of pharmacy operations at Dougherty's Pharmacy in Forest Park Medical Center and has served as an advisor to Vitae Industries.

Continue Reading