Goldwater Scholars

Amber Lu ('17 TAMS) (Photo by Michael Clements)Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science student Amber Lu ('17 TAMS) was named a 2017 Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship winner, and an honorable mention was awarded to Prateek Kalakuntla ('17 TAMS). Both graduated from TAMS in May.

Lu, a 16-year-old from Sugar Land, worked on research with chemistry professor William Acree to find the best way to purify fossil fuels and was named a Siemens semifinalist in 2016.

UNT has produced 60 Goldwater Scholars since 1996, leading all Texas universities. Goldwater awards are considered to be among the country's most prestigious scholarships awarded to students planning careers in mathematics, science and engineering.