Goldwater Scholarships

Annabel Wang and Sivabalan Manivasagam (Photo by Gary Payne)UNT's Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science seniors Annabel Wang and Sivabalan Manivasagam have been named 2014 Barry M. Goldwater Scholars. UNT leads all Texas universities, with 54 scholars.

Wang researched thermoelectric generators with Haley Lobland, research associate, and Witold Brostow, Regents Professor of materials science and engineering. The environmentally friendly technology could replace ozone-destroying components typically found in Freon. Wang plans to earn a Ph.D. in materials science.

Manivasagam researched thermochemical properties of transition metals with Angela Wilson, Regents Professor of chemistry. The information can help scientists researching the metals' potential as catalysts in areas including pharmaceuticals. After graduation, Manivasagam plans to pursue his doctoral degree in physical chemistry.

Continue Reading