Texas Sports Hall of Famer

G.A. Moore Jr. (’62, ’67 M.Ed.), Texas’ winningest high school football coach, was officially enshrined in the Texas Sports Hall of Fame at a ceremony Feb. 29 in Waco. Other members of the 2012 Hall of Fame class include golfing great Fred Couples, former NFL players Andre Ware and the late Bubba Smith, NFL coach Lovie Smith and University of Texas coach Mack Brown.

Moore, who played football at North Texas from 1957 to 1960, has coached for 43 years — including 20 years at Pilot Point and 19 years at Celina. He came out of retirement to become the head coach at Aubrey in 2009. His teams won two state championships at Pilot Point and six at Celina, including four straight from 1998 to 2001. He was inducted into the UNT Athletics Hall of Fame in 2002.

Moore also has been named to the 2012 class of the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame, where he will be honored May 19 at a banquet at the Ferrell Center in Waco.