New provost, two new deans

Three new administrative appointments are allowing UNT leaders to keep a seamless focus on the university’s goals of providing high-quality education to students while growing as a major research university. Warren W. Burggren was named UNT’s provost and vice president for academic affairs effective July 1.
Burggren, a biologist, has served as dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, the largest of UNT’s 12 academic colleges and schools, since 1998.
Michael Monticino, dean of the Toulouse School of Graduate Studies, began serving as dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, and James Meernik, associate dean in the College of Arts and Sciences, began serving as acting dean of the graduate school.
Appointments in place will continue until a long-term UNT president is appointed and establishes a long-term administration.