New journalism school

About 1,000 students are expected to enroll in the new Frank W. and Sue Mayborn School of Journalism, which became UNT’s 12th school or college this spring. The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board formally granted the school’s creation upon recommendation from the UNT System Board of Regents. Mitchell Land (’82 M.J.), journalism department chair and director of the Mayborn Graduate School of Journalism, will oversee the school’s creation as interim dean while a national search for a dean is conducted.