Mayborn Literary Nonfiction Conference celebrates Pulitzer Prize's 100th anniversary

Krys Boyd, host and managing editor of <em>Think</em> leads keynote speaker Sheryl WuDunn in a conversation during the Mayborn Literary Nonfiction Conference (Photo by Ahna Hubnik)More than 400 reporters, writers, editors, publishers and educators celebrated the Pulitzer Prize's 100th anniversary in July during the annual Mayborn Literary Nonfiction Conference. The event highlighted "A Century of Excellence" and evaluated how Pulitzer Prize-winning stories have become an integral component of democracy.

The 12th annual conference featured Pulitzer Prize winners Margo Jefferson, Sheryl WuDunn and Gilbert King as keynote speakers.

WuDunn, pictured at right in discussion with Think host Krys Boyd, won a Pulitzer for international reporting in 1990, Jefferson won for criticism in 1995, and King's novel Devil in the Grove: Thurgood Marshall, the Groveland Boys and the Dawn of a New America won the 2013 Pulitzer for general nonfiction. More than 35 nationally acclaimed writers, photographers and other narrative storytellers spoke at workshops and sessions.