The North Texan Online UNT North Texan contents UNT North Texan feature stories UNT North Texan eagle tale UNT  North Texan alumni news UNT North Texan feedback
MoreUNT North Texan time tracksUNT newsUNT North Texan contact usUNT North Texan past issues
class notes

Alumni Items

Class Notes

Friends We'll Miss

Send in your news for Class Notes



Alumni denoted by an asterisk (*) are members of the North Texas Exes


Jim Lather ('72 M.S.), Chappell Hill, was selected in June by the Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services for the first Vision "Choice" award. He has accumulated 1,200 volunteer hours at the Brenham State School since he retired after 22 years as coordinator of admissions/discharges and speech/language pathology supervisor.


J.W. 'Bill' Hobbins ('77 M.M.), Augusta, Ga., was promoted to professor of music at Augusta State University this fall. He earned his doctorate from the University of Colorado at Boulder.


Fred Allison, Spotsylvania, Va., received the Gen. Roy S. Geiger writing award from the Marine Corps Heritage Foundation for the best article on Marine Corps aviation published in the Marine Corps Gazette in 2006. He earned a Ph.D. from Texas Tech in 2003 and works as the oral historian for the U.S. Marine Corps in Quantico.


*Kim Kamin ('81 M.Ed.), Richland Hills, is coordinating the International Baccalaureate program at Trinity High School in Euless. She previously was a family and consumer sciences teacher at the high school.

Debra Lewis Panduru, Dallas, has been a public safety communications specialist for 911, police, fire and EMS services with the city of Plano for more than 20 years. She was chosen as Telecommunicator of the Year in 2006 (her third such award), represented Plano as a 911 Silent Hero at the 2007 Texas Emergency Number Association conference and was the first civilian in Plano to receive the Police Chief's Coin of Merit Award. She has been married for 22 years to a professional chef.


Terje Leiren (Ph.D.), Stanwood, Wash., is chair of the Department of Scandinavian Studies at the University of Washington at Seattle. He has been appointed Sverre Arestad Endowed Professor in Norwegian Studies and is co-general editor of the series New Directions in Scandinavian Studies.

Luri Owen ('86 M.A.), Bayfield, Colo., is co-owner of an antiques and consignment store in Bayfield. She serves as the Bayfield and English-as-a-second-language coordinator for the Adult Learning Center Inc.


Michael Ancy, Burleson, was elected in May to a three-year term on the Burleson ISD board of trustees.

Alan Cheney ('90 Ph.D.), Saba Island, Dutch West Indies, has been granted academic tenure and promoted to associate professor of psychology at Saba University School of Medicine. He is the psychotherapist for the island of 1,500 people.

Michael Devon Ford, Dallas, celebrated his 50th birthday this August and says he is grateful to have attended North Texas and grateful to his parents for stressing the importance of education. He was honored by the mayor of Calvert with a proclamation declaring Aug. 10, 2002, as "Michael Ford Day" for his contributions to the community.

*Deborah Hudson-Rose, Cibolo, retired this year after 27 years of teaching in public schools in Texas. She says she is looking forward to spending more time with her children.


UNT home UNT calendarNorth Texas Exesathletics